Letter of Support

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Klaus Töpfer
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Klaus Töpfer
United Nations Under-Secretary-General

Ladies and Gentlemen,

the "National Model United Nations" has a long tradition in the history of the United Nations. Initiated in 1946, students from all over the world have ever since travelled once a year to the headquarters in New York in order to simulate the working procedure of the United Nations. Since 10 years the Eberhard Karls University of Tuebingen is participating in this tradition. Therefore, this year a delegation from Tuebingen will travel to New York as well.

NMUN offers committed students from all corners of the world the opportunity to gain an insight into the work of the United Nations. In their role as delegates, they have to actively apply the rules of international diplomacy and to strive for multilateral cooperation in all spheres of politics.

As the executive director of the United Nations Environmental Program, I explicitly support the efforts of these students. Through a broad support for this commitment, you can also contribute to the strengthening of international cooperation by enabling young people to gain an experience that does not only enrich their lives, but in fact ensures the future of the United Nations and other International Organizations.

Sincerely yours,
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Klaus Töpfer
Klaus Töpfer
Executive Director UNEP

Top 

 webmaster@nmun-tuebingen.de | Contact | Copyright ©2006 MUN Tübingen. All rights reserved.

Grusswort

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Klaus Töpfer
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Klaus Töpfer
Unter-Generalsekretär der Vereinten Nationen

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren,

das Planspiel „National Model United Nations“ hat in den Vereinten Nationen eine lange Tradition. Bereits seit 1946 finden sich jährlich Studierende aus aller Welt im Hauptquartier in New York ein, um die Arbeitsweise der Vereinten Nationen zu simulieren. Seit mittlerweile zehn Jahren ist die Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen Teil dieser Tradition. Daher wird auch im kommenden Jahr wieder eine Tübinger Delegation nach New York reisen.

NMUN bietet engagierten Studierenden aus allen Teilen der Welt die Gelegenheit, Einblicke in die Arbeit der Vereinten Nationen zu gewinnen. In ihrer Rolle als Delegierte müssen sie die Regeln internationaler Diplomatie aktiv anwenden und sich um multilaterale Zusammenarbeit in allen Politikbereichen bemühen.

Als Exekutivdirektor des Umweltprogramms der Vereinten Nationen unterstütze ich das Engagement dieser Studierenden ausdrücklich. Durch eine breite Unterstützung dieses Engagements können auch Sie einen Beitrag zur Stärkung internationaler Kooperation leisten, indem Sie jungen Menschen Erfahrungen ermöglichen, die nicht nur deren Leben bereichert, sondern auch die Zukunft der Vereinten Nationen und anderer Internationaler Organisationen garantiert.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Klaus Töpfer
Klaus Töpfer
Executive Director UNEP

Top 

 webmaster@nmun-tuebingen.de | Kontakt | Copyright ©2006 MUN Tübingen. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.